Why is the poinsettia a christmas flower?

poinsettia is associated with Christmas thanks to the Ecke family & their success growing poinsettias commercially. Albert Ecke, a German immigrant, began poinsettia growing in California. Through a secret process, his family transformed the weed-like plant into the bushy plants we know today.

---

Its leaves turn from green to red only that time of year.