What does the endoplasmic reticulum do?

Endoplasmic reticulum (ER), in biology, a continuous membrane system that forms a series of flattened sacs within the cytoplasm of eukaryotic cells and serves multiple functions, being important particularly in the synthesis, folding, modification, and transport of proteins .

---

The endoplasmic reticulum plays a major role in the production, processing, and transport of proteins and lipids. It produces transmembrane proteins and lipids for its membrane and other cell components including lysosomes, secretory vesicles, the Golgi apparatus, and the cell membrane.