What is the difference between cream and whipping cream?

The main difference between both types of cream is the fat content. Heavy whipping cream (also referred to as heavy cream) contains around 36% more than whipping cream which contains around 30%. The fat content can have an impact upon how well the cream maintains its shape and consistency.