Why do dogs eat their own hair?

Some of the most common reasons why dogs eat their own fur, is because they are bored, or they are sick. Anxiety is the most common cause of pulling out and eating hair in dogs. This type of behavior is almost always a result of a nervous or anxious behavioral problem.