When did the pompeii volcano erupt?

Historians have long believed that Mount Vesuvius erupted on 24 August 79 AD, destroying the nearby Roman city of Pompeii. But now, an inscription has been uncovered dated to mid-October - almost two months later. Vesuvius has erupted many times since, with the last coming in 1944