How long do i cook a tenderloin in the oven?

For a 2-1/2-pound beef tenderloin, roast the meat uncovered for 20 minutes at 250°F. Then turn up the heat to 425°F. Roast until an instant-read thermometer inserted in the thickest part of meat registers 135°F (about 30 to 40 minutes). Remove from the oven.