How do you stop a dog from peeing everywhere?

Dogs can easily be trained not to go to the bathroom indoors. If they are "paper trained" they will only go on a sheet of urine-scented newspaper that you lay out for them outdoors. However, they cannot be trained out of scent marking...peeing a few drops on trees or posts.