What's the proper way to poach an egg?

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Crack the egg in a fine mesh sieve (over a bowl) to remove liquid like whites and transfer the rest to a bowl. Stir the pot to create a vortex and pour the egg in the middle of vortex. Cook for 3 minutes. Remove the egg with a slotted spoon and serve warm!