Is an alpaca a type of llama?

no, Both species are primarily found in Peru and Bolivia and are part of the camel family, alpacas are often noticeably smaller than llamas. Llamas have long banana-shaped ears while alpacas have straight ears. Llamas are known to be good guard animals, while alpacas are a bit more skittish.