How much stars does the american flag have?

The American flag has fifty stars, one star for each of the fifty U.S. states. The 48-star flag was used from 1912 to 1959. In 1959 one star was added to make a 49-star flag when Alaska became the 49th state. Later that same year, another star was added for Hawaii when it became the 50th state.