Can mass spontaneously form in space?

The steady-state theory of cosmology assumed that matter was created spontaneously in space. Almost no one believes this today. However, a very high-energy photon can be transformed into matter, such as a positron and electron, creating new matter while conserving total mass-energy.

---

Mass can spontaneously form in space, right now somewhere out there mass is most likely forming at this very moment due to dark energy, which causes the universe to expand.