What does s. mean in money?

The sign for a pound was either the abbreviation 'li', or the £ sign. Both come from the Latin word 'libra', meaning 'pound'. ... Shillings were usually abbreviated to 's'. The 's' stands for 'sesterius' or 'solidos', coins used by the Romans.