Why are flip flops called flip flops?

The term flip-flop has been used in American and British English since the 1960s to describe the thong or no-heel-strap sandal. Flip-flop is an onomatopoeia, or word that phonetically imitates or suggests the sound that it describes. In this case the sound made by the sandals when walking in them.