Why is it called a hickey?

Hickey: bruise or bruise-like mark caused by kissing or sucking the skin, usually on neck or arm. Origin: earlier meaning of pimple,skin lesion (c. 1915); perhaps a sense extension/spelling variation from earlier word meaning "small gadget; any unspecified object" of unknown origin(1909). Wikipedia