Why is the store seven eleven called seven eleven?

7-Eleven Inc. is a Japanese-American international chain of convenience stores. It was founded in 1927 as an ice house storefront. It was named Tote'm Stores initially but in 1946, the name was changed to 7-Eleven to reflect the company's new, extended hours, 7 A.M. to 11 P.M., seven days per week.

---

It was originally open from 7am to 11pm.