How do you mine amethyst in minecraft?

The best way to farm amethyst clusters in Minecraft is to mine them manually with a pickaxe enchanted with Fortune III. With Fortune III, players can get up to sixteen amethyst shards out of a single cluster, whereas it only drops two when broken by a piston.