How did jordan almonds get their name?

There are several possible origins to the name Jordan Almonds. It could be a corrupted version of the French word jardin, meaning "garden", hence, a cultivated rather than wild almond, a term for almonds grown along the Jordan River, or a corruption of the town of Verdun in the northeast of France.