Who did tom brady replace for the patriots?

3, 1977, but the birth of the greatest quarterback in NFL history took place on Sept. 23, 2001. That's when 6th-round pick Tom Brady replaced Drew Bledsoe at quarterback of the Patriots after Jets linebacker Mo Lewis knocked Bledsoe out with a hit late in a game; New York was leading 10–3.