How many types of crystals are in the world?

An almost endless amount. They generally fall into 3 categories: Crystals, polycrystals, and amorphous solids. Crystals include snowflakes, diamonds, and table salt; Polycystals include most metals, rocks, ceramics, and ice; and Amorphous solids include glass, wax, and plastics.