What are paternal twins?

Paternal twins form when one egg is fertilized by one sperm cell, creating a zygote. The zygote splits in two, creating two embryos that grow up to be the same gender and look exactly alike. They are more commonly referred to as identical twins.

---

When two eggs are independently fertilized by two different sperm cells, fraternal twins result. ... Fraternal twins are, essentially, two ordinary siblings who happen to be born at the same time, since they arise from two separate eggs fertilized by two separate sperm, just like ordinary siblings.