What are paternal twins?

When two eggs are independently fertilized by two different sperm cells, fraternal twins result. ... Fraternal twins are, essentially, two ordinary siblings who happen to be born at the same time, since they arise from two separate eggs fertilized by two separate sperm, just like ordinary siblings.