What is the biggest earthquake to hit california?

The largest earthquake was in Lake Tejon on January 9th, 1857. It measured to be a 7.9.

---

The largest earthquake on record to hit the state of California was at Fort Tejon on January 9,1857 and registered a magnitude of 7.9 on the Richter Scale.