What is the fastest recorded pitch in major league baseball?

On Sept. 24, 2010, Cincinnati Reds pitcher Aroldis Chapman threw the fastest pitch in major league history, clocked at 105.1 mph. On Aug. 20, 1974 however, Angels pitcher Nolan Ryan threw a fastball clocked at 100.9 mph. Adjusted for today's technology, that pitch would have been 108.5 mph.