Why are police uniforms blue?

The oldest reason the uniforms are blue is, when standardized uniforms came into use for police across America, many officers were simply given surplus navy blue Union army uniforms to wear. Today navy is less visible in the dark & hides stains well. Not all jurisdictions use the traditional blue.