What's the symbol for a thousand?

There are two symbols for a thousand. K, which comes from the Greek word kilo, is commonly used in writing as an abbreviation for 1,000. For example, you might see 100,000 written as 100 K. The other symbol is the letter M, the Roman numeral for 1,000, but is used less often as a standalone symbol.