What was the louvre originally?

The Louvre is part of the Louvre Palace which was originally built as the Louvre castle.

---

The museum is housed in what was originally Louvre castle, serving as a fortress in the 13th century. When the fortress was no longer, it was converted it into Louvre Palace, the primary residence of the French Kings. The National Assembly opened the Louvre as a museum in August 1793.