Who is sydney hall?

Sydney Hall is a fictional character in the Film, "The Vanishing of Sydney Hall". An enigmatic detective who embarks on a cross-country search for a once-prominent author who has mysteriously disappeared after a string of dangerous arsons targeting his celebrated, but controversial, first novel.