Why is the moscow mule served in a copper mug?

Why Are Moscow Mules Served in Copper Mugs? Moscow mule purists know that tradition isn't the only reason the drink is served in a copper mug: The cold metal insulates the temperature of the chilled ginger beer, keeping the cocktail cool and refreshing.