How much people are in minecraft?

Since its release in 2011, Minecraft has amassed 140 million active players worldwide. The popular sandbox game, which is developed by Swedish game publisher, Mojang, allows players to build 3D worlds with different types of blocks and then explore and craft items within their new world.