Why do dogs like being pet?

It provides health benefits, such as lowered blood pressure or reduced heart rate. We know these things occur in people, and dogs exhibit a reduced heart rate after being pet by their owners. Similarly, touch may help social animals (like both humans and dogs) keep tabs on the members of their group