Why are zombies afraid of fire?

Fire played an important role in the movie, Night of the Living Dead and the original Dawn of the Dead. It has seemed to have lost its importance over the years and zombies can't seem to be stopped by fire anymore. Zombies are fictional, so their fears can change over time.