How do oysters make pearls?

When any irritant like a grain of sand gets inside an oyster the creature produces nacre which is also called mother-of-pearl and eventually produces a pearl.

---

Pearls start when a grain of sand or other small particle gets stuck in the oyster. Because this is an irritant, the oyster begins to secrete a substance that coats the sand grain and after many layers accumulate, voila, a pearl is created!