What exactly is yeast?

Yeasts are fungi. In particular, they are fungi that grow as individual or small clusters of cells instead of in the long, tubular chains of cells called hyphae that compose most fungi. Yeast needs food, warmth, and moisture to thrive.

---

Yeast are single-celled microorganisms that are members of the fungus family.