What's a robber baron?

Robber baron is a derogatory term of social criticism originally applied to certain wealthy and powerful 19th-century American businessmen. The term appeared as early as the August 1870 issue of The Atlantic Monthly magazine.

---

A robber baron is a person who has become rich through ruthless and unscrupulous business practices, originally with reference to prominent US businessmen in the late 19th century.