Why is ketchup red?

Catchup is red because it is made from red ripe tomatoes.

---

In the U. S., other than in heirloom strains, ripe tomatoes are nearly always red. Since the other ingredients in ketchup are either clear, light colored, or present in very small amounts, the dominant color comes from the ingredient that makes up the bulk of the recipe - red, ripe, tomatoes.