How do you know if apple cider vinegar is bad?

In a clear container you can see the cider has separated with a separate layer on top of the cider. The cider will usually look clouds. The smell will be like compost or rotted fruit rather than apples. The taste will be unpleasant. If tasted spit it out and rinse out your mouth.