Why are they called milk duds?

They are called milk duds because of the ingredients involved and the lack of spherical shape to the candy piece, therefore, a "dud".

---

MILK DUDS Candy got their name because their maker found it impossible to get the chocolate-covered caramels to form perfectly round balls, so he called them “duds.”