Why do you boil cold water?

You boils cold water because, Cold water boils faster than hot water. There is, however, a good reason to use cold water instead of hot for cooking: hot water will contain more dissolved minerals from your pipes, which can give your food an off-flavor, particularly if you reduce the water a lot.