What is the war in ireland about?

As far as I know, the war in Ireland is over. But it was the Catholics vs Protestants. I was there in 2003 and there was no problem. I went to Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Northern Ireland is still under British rule and the Republic is a free country.