Why is a pie called a pie?

Pie is called pie because it comes from the Latin word, Pica. It was first used to describe a bird. Later for pastry and was shortened to, pie, by the French who do not like to pronounce consonants.

---

1300 probably older, from Medieval Latin pie, "meat or fish enclosed in pastry, which is perhaps related to Medieval Latin pia, "pie, pastry," also possibly connected with pica, "magpie" on notion of the bird's habit of collecting miscellaneous objects.