Why is dressing called dressing?

Since circa 1430, to dress a bird or other meat meant to prepare it for cooking. Today we refer to the dish of spiced bread cooked in the pan around the turkey, or alongside it, as dressing. If you mean salad dressing, it's because you use the sauce to "dress up" the plain veggies.