Who invented the cigarettes?

The first commercial cigarettes were made in 1865 by Washington Duke on his 300-acre farm in Raleigh, North Carolina. His hand-rolled cigarettes were sold to soldiers at the end of the Civil War.James Bonsack invented the cigarette-making machine in 1881 that cigarette smoking became widespread.