Is there a difference between dry measuring cups and liquid measuring cups?

Yes. There are two main types of measuring cups — dry measuring cups, and liquid measuring cups. Liquid measuring cups are usually glass or plastic, and have lines that help you measure content. Dry measuring cups hold the exact amount of an ingredient, and should be leveled off with a flat edge.