What's the definition of maverick?

In the 2008 US Presidential election, Sarah Palin was considered a bold choice as Vice Presidential nominee, because many at the time viewed the Republican Party to be run by a male dominated gerontocracy, and this led to many in the media referring to her as a “Maverick.”