Where do crawfish live?

Crayfish, also known as crawfish, live throughout the world in ponds, streams, rivers and lakes. Look for them under rocks and logs where they dig shallow holes and water-filled tunnels. Over half of the more than 500 species of crayfish live in North America.

---

Crawfish are freshwater crustaceans that resemble miniature lobsters, ranging in size from 3 1/2 to 7 inches. Over 400 species are found worldwide, 250 of which are in North America, living in rivers, lakes, swamps, canals, wetlands and irrigation ditches.