What country invented the hotdog?

Common hotdogs while usually associated with American short order or fast food cuisine was invented in the German city of Frankfurt. Since this sausage is from Frankfurt it is also called a frankfurter. A similar sausage was invented in Vienna, called weeners after the city's German pronunciation.