Why are they called lazy susans?

According to lore, Thomas Jefferson invented the device for his daughter Susan. Despite various folk etymologies linking the name to Jefferson's daughter, the earliest use of these "butler's assistants" being called a lazy Susan, dates to the 1903 Boston Journal.