At what age is a dog a senior?

A little dog such as a toy poodle, terrier or Chihuahua isn't considered senior until much later than a larger breed, (maybe 10 or 12 years old), and the giant breeds are considered “senior citizens” at 5 or 6. Most vets, though, consider a dog of 7 or 8 years and older to be a senior.