What's the n. g. m. story?

MGM was founded in 1924, when entrepreneur Marcus Loew gained control of Metro Pictures, Goldwyn Pictures, and Louis B. Mayer Pictures. The company was spun out in 1979, with the studio's owner Kirk Kerkorian, maintaining a large share, but it ended all affiliation with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer in 1986.