When did they stop making half dollar coins?

They are still making half dollar coins. Collector half dollars can be ordered directly from the U.S. Mint and pre-2002 circulation half dollars may be ordered through most American banks and credit unions. In 2021, half dollars began to be produced for general circulation again.