How do you use vinegar as fabric softener?

Depending on the hardness of your water, you could start with 1/4 cup of distilled white vinegar, added to your fabric softener dispenser. White vinegar removes excess detergent as well as fabric softener which will, over time, make your clothes naturally softer and towels more absorbent.